Dropbox Tip on Folder Organization

I have a great Dropbox tip that I learned the hard way.  I tried to make a simple move of a few shared folders from one level to another…  my mistake was that I did it on my LOCAL machine as opposed to going through the WEB interface.  These folders were the top level share folders.  So when I moved them out of my local Dropbox directory on my local machine, the master Dropbox web account began restoring them over the web… thinking that the local copies had disappeared. 7,455 files and 3 hours later, everything had synched back up.  Yikes.

Here is the tip
If you want to make any changes to a top-level folder that YOU have shared… , make the move of the folder in the web interface and you’ll be fine.  The local system will auto update across all shared accounts.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *